--- title: "Managing Local Groups" slug: "managing-local-groups-tg" updated: 2026-10-27T17:23:23Z published: 2026-10-27T17:23:23Z canonical: "docs.vastdata.com/managing-local-groups-tg" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.vastdata.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Managing Local Groups Groups must be added to the local provider in order to be associated with a local user. When creating a group, you specify a group name and a GID. A SID is generated for the group. When providers are queried for groups, groups that are duplicated on multiple non-local providers are merged by group name. If the different instances of the same group name have conflicting GIDs or SIDs, the attributes of the local group override those of all other providers. ## Creating a Group in VAST Web UI 1. From the left navigation menu, choose User Management -> Groups. 2. In the Groups page that opens, click Create Group. 3. In the Add Group dialog, complete the fields: | Field | Description | | --- | --- | | Name (required) | Enter a name for the group. | | GID (required) | Enter a POSIX group ID (GID) for the group. | | Identity Policies | Optionally, select one or more [S3 identity policies](/docs-5-3/docs/managing-identity-policies-tg) to assign to the group. If needed, click Add Identity Policy to [create](/docs-5-3/docs/en/creating-identity-policies-tg) a policy first.Creating Identity Policies | 4. Click Create. The group is created. ## Modifying a Group in VAST Web UI 1. From the left navigation menu, choose User Management -> Groups. 2. In the Groups page, right-click on the group you want to modify, and select Edit. 3. In the Update Group dialog that opens, make the changes you need and click Update. The group is updated with the changes. ## Removing a Group in VAST Web UI 1. From the left navigation menu, choose User Management -> Groups. 2. In the Groups page, right-click on the group you want to delete, and select Remove. 3. In the confirmation popup, click Yes to confirm. The group is removed from the local provider.