--- title: "Deleting a Volume" slug: "deleting-a-volume" updated: 2026-10-28T01:53:57Z published: 2026-10-28T01:53:57Z canonical: "docs.vastdata.com/deleting-a-volume" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.vastdata.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deleting a Volume > Caution > > Deleting a volume deletes the volume directory and all data on the volume. Volumes must be unmapped from hosts before being deleted. You can choose to force unmap when you delete a single volume. ## Deleting a Volume from the VAST Web UI 1. Right-click the volume and select Remove. > Caution > > Do not use the Remove option to delete a snapshot volume. Deleting a snapshot volume deletes the source volume and all of its data. Instead, to delete a snapshot volume, unmap it from any mapped hosts. This automatically deletes a snapshot volume. 2. If you want to force the deletion even if the volume is mapped to hosts, enable the Force slider. > [!NOTE] > Note > > There is no force option for bulk volume deletion. You must unmap hosts from volumes before bulk deleting them. 3. Click Delete Volume. ## Deleting a Snapshot Volume To delete a snapshot volume, unmap the volume from any mapped hosts. When you unmap hosts from a snapshot volume, the snapshot volume is automatically deleted without the volume itself, if it still exists, being deleted. > Caution > > Do not use the Remove option to delete a snapshot volume. Deleting a snapshot volume deletes the source volume and all of its data. ## Deleting a Volume from the VAST CLI Use the [volume delete](/docs-5-4/docs/en/volume-delete) command.